Bauhaus Bach

FRI, Oct 21, 2011
8 pm

Carnegie Hall, 881 Seventh Avenue at 57th Street

In conjunction with Lyonel Feininger: At the Edge of the World, the American Symphony Orchestra premieres three of Feininger's fugues in a concert entitled "Bauhaus Bach." Also included on the program are modernist orchestrations of J.S.Bach, who perfected the form of the fugue, by Arnold Shoenberg, Max Reger, and others.

J.S. Bach (orchestration by Max Reger)—O Mensch, Bewein' dein' Sünde gross
J.S. Bach (orchestration by Arnold Schoenberg)—Komm, Gott Schöpfer, heiliger Geist
Lyonel Feininger (orchestration by Richard Wilson)—Three Fugues
Arnold Schoenberg—Variations for Orchestra
J.S. Bach (orchestration by Schoenberg)—Prelude and Fugue in E Flat Major, "St. Anne"
J.S. Bach (orchestration by Wolfgang Graeser)—The Art of the Fugue

Tickets may be purchased through the American Symphony Orchestra.

Buy Tickets

The Museum building is accessible and has elevator access to all floors. Service animals are welcome. Learn more about access services and amenities.