Yayoi Kusama
Audio Guide Playlist

This audio guide features selected works from Yayoi Kusama and the artist's installation, Fireflies on the Water.

NARRATOR: In this collage, Kusama gazes into a mirrored environment, a bespectacled man peering over her shoulder. They’re looking into Kusama’s Endless Love Show—a small octagonal room that was mirrored on all sides, and empty except for blinking, colored electric lights. Because the reflections bounced between the mirrors, the space seemed infinite. Kusama gave each visitor to the exhibition a badge that read “LOVE FOREVER.” She also handed out brochures that read, in part:

“Endless Love Show 1966 is about Mechanization, Repetition, Obsession, Impulse, Vertigo, and Unrealized Infinite Love. I prefer the title Kusama’s Peep Show for this exhibition, because it allows you to see things that you cannot touch.”

Fireflies on the Water, the installation on view on the first floor of the Museum, develops the ideas that Kusama explored in the Endless Love Show.

More Audio Guides

Mary Corse: A Survey in Light audio guide
Nick Mauss: Transmissions audio guide
Between the Waters audio guide
Grant Wood: American Gothic and Other Fables audio guide
Juan Antonio Olivares audio guide
Laura Owens audio guide