American Legends: From Calder to O'Keeffe
Audio Guide Playlist

This audio guide highlights selected works by artists in American Legends: From Calder to O’Keeffe. Curators, scholars, and artists provide additional commentary.

NARRATOR: Framed in a doorway, facing away from us, this female figure slumps in grief. A photo on the table shows her son or husband in uniform. The painting's title, Casualty: The Secretary of War Regrets, quotes the telegram dreaded by every serviceman's family.

Lawrence's War Series originated during his service on a World War II Navy transport ship.

JACOB LAWRENCE: Again, I will never forget that experience. We would go over carrying 5,000 troops—young, American troops—and we would come back a hospital ship. Many of these cases were horrible. They were terrible to see, what can happen in war, especially what can happen to a person mentally, physically, psychologically. I don't think I can verbalize that, because I would only cheapen the experience.

NARRATOR: Lawrence began the War Series in 1947, two years after he was discharged in December 1945. It was his way of coming to terms with what he'd witnessed.

More Audio Guides

Mary Corse: A Survey in Light audio guide
Nick Mauss: Transmissions audio guide
Between the Waters audio guide
Grant Wood: American Gothic and Other Fables audio guide
Juan Antonio Olivares audio guide
Laura Owens audio guide